Class 1 recall – plastic pieces in Nestle ‘Hot Pockets’

August 23, 2008

Nestlé Prepared Foods Company, a Mt. Sterling, Ky., establishment, is recalling approximately 215,660 pounds of frozen stuffed pepperoni pizza sandwich products that may contain foreign materials, the U.S. Department of Agriculture’s Food Safety and Inspection Service announced.

The following products are subject to recall: 54-ounce, 12-pack cartons of “HOT POCKETS PEPPERONI PIZZA” brand stuffed sandwiches. Printed on the side of each carton is “8157544614D,” “EST 7721A,” and “BEST BEFORE JAN2010.” Each carton bears the USDA mark of inspection.

In February Nestle recalled 49,264 cases of Hot Pocket Philly Steak & Cheese sandwiches as well as some Hot Pockets Croissant Crust Philly Steak & Cheese sandwiches that were sold in two-pack boxes.

One Response to “Class 1 recall – plastic pieces in Nestle ‘Hot Pockets’”

  1. Flo Myers Says:

    Hi,
    Just to let you know, I did not have any idea that there
    was a recall on the “Hot Pockets.” Last Thursday, I
    heated a “Lean Pocket” either garlic and white pizza or
    the spinach. In order to have more space in my freezer,
    I removed the pockets from the box after purchasing thus
    making me not really knowing which one I heated in the microwave. What happened is the following: I took the
    pocket out of the cardboard wrapper I heated it in and
    took a bite. A white thing that looked like stiff piece dental floss poked out. I looked at it and thought it might be plastic, but talked myself out of it because if I dwelled on it, I would never purchase “Lean Pockets” again. At this point I had not heard of any recall. Saturday night, I was watching the show Chelsey Lately on the E channel and she made a joke at the end of her show about Nestle recalling Hot Pockets for having plastic pieces in them. I realized then that the thing I pulled out of my Lean Pocket was most likely a plastic piece. I see that you have not recalled any of the Lean Pockets and wanted to tell you what happened to me. Like I just said….it was like a hard or stiff piece of dental floss about as long as the pocket. I am not looking for restitution, just letting you know in case this is something like the recall. Thank you for listening.


Leave a Reply

